If any members would like to post their publishing-related news on our website or Facebook page, please contact us.

International Writers’ Workshop 2019 Distinguished Writers Series: Nam Le

International Writers’ Workshop is delighted to announce Mr. Nam Le, winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize, as their featured writer for the 2019 Distinguished Writers Series hosted by the International Writers’ Workshop (IWW) at Hong Kong Baptist University in early October.

Author of the celebrated short story collection The Boat and the new nonfiction book On David Malouf: Writers on Writers, Mr. Le is the recipient of numerous prizes, including the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, the PEN/Malamud Award, and the International Dylan Thomas Prize, etc. Enclosed please find a short biography of Mr. Le for your reference.

IWW’s Distinguished Writers Series hosts a prominent international writer each year with a public reading on campus, a master class with students, and a public conversation with a Hong Kong-based writer.

Literary Reading
9 October 2019 (Wednesday) | 15:00 – 16:30
Tsang Chan Sik Yue Auditorium (AAB 201)
2/F Academic and Administration Building, Hong Kong Baptist University (Baptist University Road Campus), Kowloon Tong
Nam Le in Conversation
Dr. Tammy Lai-Ming Ho (Department of English Language and Literature (Moderator)
10 October 2019 (Thursday) | 18:00 – 19:30
Council Chamber (SWT 501), 5/F Shaw Tower, Hong Kong Baptist University (Shaw Campus), Kowloon TongBoth events are free & open to the public. If you are interested, simply register here: For group reservation, please email the details (name of group, number of seats, contact information) to

IWW was founded in 2004 as a signature programme of the Faculty of Arts in support of excellence in the literary arts. For enquiries, please contact us at 3411 2510 (Miss Denise Tam) or 3411 7173 (Miss Diana Au), or

September 27th, 2019|

Announcing ‘Fool Me Twice’ – A True Crime Podcast Release

This will be released on October 25th, 2019
on Apple Podcast, Spotify, Auscast Network
and all podcast platforms

Subscribe now on Apple Podcasts
Listen on


Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.

Jules Hannaford was successful and happy in her life and her job, but was still lonely. She turned to online dating as a last resort, after being single for more than a decade. It seemed she was consistently meeting men who were not good enough. One after another, they seemed only to want to swindle her out of her money, and she was getting frustrated.

Finally, she met a man who had his life together. Truman was a successful project manager at a construction firm, and seemed as excited as Jules was about the possibility of building a life with someone special.

Jules travelled across the world to meet him, and the fairy tale immediately began to unravel. All was not as it seemed.

This podcast is an exploration of the world of sweetheart scams, catfishing, and the ugly side of online dating.

September 17th, 2019|

The SmokeLong Flash Fellowship for Emerging Writers

The application period is open for The SmokeLong Flash Fellowship for Emerging Writers (deadline Oct 15, 2019). Writers who are 18+, who write in English and have no chapbook- or book-length work published or under contract are eligible.

The prize for this year-long virtual fellowship is $1000 ($200 upon winning the fellowship and $200 for each of 4 stories workshopped and published in the 2020 quarterly issues of SmokeLong Quarterly). The entry fee is $8, but there is also a free-entry option for writers on a low income.

This is a great opportunity for an emerging writer to gain experience at a literary journal. The fellow will work closely with the SmokeLong staff, reading and commenting on submissions, fully integrated into the editorial process of the journal. With three SmokeLong editors each quarter, the fellow will workshop three stories, one of which will be chosen for publication.

The fellows have won/been included in Best of the Net, The Best Small Fictions, and the Wigleaf Top 50. More information about the fellowship:

To Submit:

August 24th, 2019|

Proverse Prize

Founded by HKWIPS member, Gillian Bickley, and her husband, Verner Bickley, the International Proverse Prizes for writing submitted in English and previously unpublished in English (may be in translation), close for entry on 30 June 1962. The Proverse Prize for single-author book-length non-fiction, fiction, or poetry (now in its 10th year) offers a cash prize and publication. The Proverse Poetry Prize for single poems (this is its fourth edition) offers cash prizes and anthology publication.
Full details and entry documents are available from the Proverse website:
Entry is available through the online submissions manager,

Members and former members of HKWIPS have already had books published as a result of entering for the Proverse Prize and have been place-winners and/or have also had their work included in the Proverse Poetry Prize anthologies.

For those who are at least 18 years old. Otherwise, entry is open to all, whatever their place of birth, residence, nationality or citizenship. New, emerging and experienced writers are all warmly invited to participate.

May 19th, 2019|